LaRocca, Reynolds & Willis Awards

The Leadership Conference also hosts the annual Thomas J. Reynolds Awards Luncheon and the presentation of the James J. Willis Craftperson of the Year Award.  This year TAUC is pleased to announce the first every Joseph R. LaRocca Project of the Year Award will also be announced during the conference. Applications are now being accepted for all three awards -- submit your nominations today!

Thomas J. Reynolds Safety Awards

Established in 1983, the Thomas J. Reynolds Safety Awards recognize member contractors who achieve a Days Away, Restricted or Transferred (DART) Rate of 25% or more below the national industry average in a calendar year.


  • All work hours under all collective bargaining agreements (i.e. local agreements, NMA projects, other project labor agreements, etc.) are eligible.

  • Only direct-hire work hours should be included - do NOT include subcontractor hours.

  • Only one (1) form should be submitted per company - it should include ALL jobs for the current year.

  • Recognition is based on a Days Away, Restricted or Transferred (DART) Rate of 25% below the Bureau of Labor Statistics national average for the previous year.

  • Companies with multiple subsidiaries may submit for multiple awards, provided they have separate Federal ID numbers (please provide the Federal ID number to differentiate between companies). A separate application fee will apply.


James J. Willis
Craftperson of the Year Award

Sponsored by TAUC Legacy Partner DEWALT

The James J. Willis Craftperson of the Year Award was created in 1989 and was originally known as the Craftsman of the Year Award. TAUC changed the name in 2008 to memorialize James J. Willis, Sr. He was a dear friend and supporter of TAUC and an authentic leader within the construction industry for more than five decades. Prior to his retirement as first vice president of the International Association of Bridge, Structural, Ornamental and Reinforcing Iron Workers, Willis was president of the National Maintenance Agreements Policy Committee, Inc. and co-chairman of the NMAPC Labor-Management Committee.



Nominees must be building trades members who have a gift for recognizing the vision of a project and can bring that vision -- from blueprint to building -- to fruition in a professional manner. Nominations are open to all crafts, on all projects completed in the calendar year of the award, worked under any type of building trades collective bargaining agreement. Apprentices, journeymen, foremen and general foremen are eligible for nomination.

TAUC encourages all association members to submit nominations for this prestigious award. Winners will receive significant publicity in the association's magazine, web site ( and other national construction industry periodicals. Contractors must be paid Leadership Conference registrants for any winning craftpersons to be recognized at the awards ceremony.

Joseph R. La Rocca
Union Project of the Year Awards

The Awards will recognize outstanding work performed under labor-management cooperation and will be judged under the following four criteria:

  1. Collaboration/teamwork;

  2. Construction quality and craftsmanship;

  3. Project execution/scale; and

  4. Safety. 

In addition, there will be three award categories, for projects of less than $5 million; $5 million to $50 million; and above $50 million. 

All current TAUC Governing Members in good standing are invited to apply for the Union Project of the Year Awards.

About Joseph R. La Rocca


Joe La Rocca is a true pioneer in the union construction industry. He served as Executive Vice President of TAUC's predecessor organization, The National Erectors Association, from its inception in 1969 until his retirement in 1986. In addition, he also served as the first Impartial Secretary of the National Maintenance Agreements Policy Committee Inc. (NMAPC), and was instrumental in spearheading its creation and shepherding its unprecedented growth throughout the 1970s and 1980s. The impact Joe made on TAUC, and the industry as a whole, is still felt today. His passion for the business and the people who are served by it are a vital part of his legacy. His philosophy was simple: you don't just serve the contractors, the participating unions and/or the owner; your service is an even higher calling to the union construction industry as a whole. That is a true testament to his - and TAUC's - approach to leadership, and the reason why this award is named in his honor.